Where is Nederland, Co. and What Are You Doing There?

Published on by Roger Karny

Well, I'm so glad you asked! Nederland is a former hippy colony of Boulder, Co., in fact about 20 miles due west of it in the beautiful Colo. mtns. You used to be able to see micro and mini buses driving the (few) streets around here, but I haven't seen many lately. HOWEVER, people looking much LIKE hippies, although a little mountainized, are still visible. They are definitely not to be mistaken for tourists from the east, of course.

The Indian Peaks Wilderness is just a little to the west and north of Nederland, an area populated by running streams, tall pines and what's left of wildlife that you can find - don't forget a little snow still gracing the high peaks above treeline.

Oh, and as to why I am here... Well, sometimes you just have to get away - and they have a library with computers. My creative juices seem to have dried up and blown away lately, not, of course due to our numerous late afternoon thunderstorms.

So, when that happens, my best recourse is to go West - into the mtns., a place of refreshment, solitude, and "elbow-room" as Daniel Boone craved when he went further west in Kentucky looking for wilderness.

Only problem is that it's cloudy and rainy today here. But not a huge deal, when I come here, it's usually to read and write... inside. I also generally take RTD buses to get here too, as that allows extra time for reflection, etc. on the way.

I hope to start a short story while here; I had an idea on the bus on the way up. I also brought a book introducing 18th century philosophers titled "The Age of Ideology" and Louise DeSalvo's book "Writing as a Way of Healing."

To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Comment on this post
G
Was so glad to log in today and see all the new posts! I am thinking that the trip to Nederland has done the trick of getting your juices flowing!
Reply
R
It actually took 3 days of different things that week, Nederland only being one. Have you ever been to the Sanctuary Center outside of Sedalia? How are you? <br /> Has Doug returned from the wilds of Spain yet?